Pipe Set References

Productivity Tools for Civil3D 2015 or higher
twdotson
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:35 pm
Location: Flemingsburg, KY

Pipe Set References

Postby twdotson » Thu May 14, 2015 6:52 pm

Sets the referenced alignment and/or surface for a selection set of pipes and structures along with associated labels (in 2013 or higher). Pipe network objects can be selected in plan or profile view.

Image

When all pipe network objects are already assigned to an alignment or surface it selects those items on the right, otherwise no item is selected.

User avatar
rkmcswain
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 11:57 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby rkmcswain » Thu May 21, 2015 1:17 pm

One thing (yea, I found one...) that C3D does a good job at is allowing you to *pick* an object (alignment, surface, etc) on the screen -OR- allow you to select the object from a list in a dialog.

To mimic this behavior would make this tool much better - because the alignment and or surface may not be visible at the time you run this routine.

User avatar
rkmcswain
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 11:57 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby rkmcswain » Thu May 21, 2015 1:21 pm

Could this be modified to work on structures also?
This way we could isolate a network and window a collection of pipes + structures and set the alignment and/or surface for them all

User avatar
rkmcswain
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 11:57 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby rkmcswain » Thu May 21, 2015 1:24 pm

The prompting is a bit confusing.

It says

Code: Select all

Select Surface <Enter for None>:


That makes me think that if I do not select a surface, the surface will be set to <None>
It does not appear to work this way though, it simply leaves the currently set surface as is.

To clarify, maybe:

Code: Select all

Select Surface <Enter to skip>:

User avatar
rkmcswain
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 11:57 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby rkmcswain » Thu May 21, 2015 1:32 pm

IF you decide to do this, and IF you cannot make use of this existing built-in dialog and you decide to roll your own, please use a list box instead of a drop-down to save a click or two :D

twdotson
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:35 pm
Location: Flemingsburg, KY

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby twdotson » Thu May 21, 2015 2:52 pm

We could add an option to the prompt so you could press D for Dialog and select it there (in a listbox), I don't know how the Civil3D dialog appears and I doubt it could be tapped into.

However the bigger question is would this entire tool be better as a dialog, where you could pick the pipe network by listed name and it would process all pipes and structures in the network, or you could have a [<] button where you could select anything in the drawing. Something like this where [Text] could be drop downs or list boxes:

Network: [Network1] [<]
Alignment: [Primary] [<]
Surface [Primary] [<]
[OK][Cancel

You could still use the [<] button and select pipes/structures in profile view. May be better, may be worse.

twdotson
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:35 pm
Location: Flemingsburg, KY

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby twdotson » Thu May 21, 2015 2:52 pm

rkmcswain wrote:Could this be modified to work on structures also?


It should already allow selection of structures.

twdotson
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:35 pm
Location: Flemingsburg, KY

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby twdotson » Sun May 24, 2015 5:55 pm

Ok we decided it would be best as a dialog box. If you know the names you don't have to select anything in the drawing. If you don't know you can select everything in the drawing. Dialog shown at the top of this post.

User avatar
rkmcswain
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 11:57 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby rkmcswain » Tue May 26, 2015 3:54 pm

When will this update be available? Thanks.

twdotson
Site Admin
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:35 pm
Location: Flemingsburg, KY

Re: Pipe Set References

Postby twdotson » Tue May 26, 2015 6:52 pm

Last nights build, close Civil3D and run Check for Updates.


Return to “C3D Tools Suite”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron